Award-winning programming

American Public Media is proud of its nearly 1,000 broadcasting and journalism awards, including numerous George Foster Peabody Awards (dubbed the “Oscar of broadcasting”), Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards, national Emmy and Murrow Awards, a prestigious Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Gold Baton Award, an Alfred I. duPont- Columbia University Silver Baton and a GRAMMY Award.

Recent wins

2019 George Polk Award for Journalism: In the Dark: Season Two

2019 Edward R. Murrow Award for Multimedia/Radio Network: In the Dark: Season Two

2017 Gracie Award for Interactive Media: Nora McInerny, host of Terrible, Thanks for Asking

2017 Gabriel Awards for Classical MPR: “Bridge of Song” and “Kaddish: Reflections on the Holocaust in Music and Words

2017 Webby Awards, Podcasts: The Hilarious World of Depression and Codebreaker

2017 George Foster Peabody Award for Best of the Best in Radio/Podcast: In the Dark

2016, Gracie Award for best national correspondent, Lizzie O’Leary, Marketplace Weekend

2016, Gracie Award for best feature, Krissy Clark, Marketplace Wealth & Poverty Desk, “York & Fig” series

2014, National Humanities Medal awarded to On Being host Krista Tippett

2014, Edward R. Murrow Award, Network Radio, Hard News Reporting, “China’s Toxic Harvest”

2014, Gracie Award Outstanding Series, Marketplace, “One School, One Year”

2014, Radio Television Digital News Association and the National Endowment for Financial Education Award for Personal Finance Reporting (Online), Marketplace, Paddy Hirsch’s Whiteboard Series

2014, Clarion Award (Radio Regular Talk or Interview Program), The Splendid Table

2014, James Beard Foundation Broadcast and New Media Awards (Radio Show/Audio Webcast), The Splendid Table

2014, Gabriel Award for artistic achievement, Performance Today

2013, Emmy for Investigative Journalism-Long Form, Marketplace, collaboration with PBS FRONTLINE: Big Sky, Big Money

2012, Edward R. Murrow Award, Audio Investigative Reporting award, Marketplace, “Chinese Student Syndrome”