MPR News and The Current Win Society of Professional Journalists Awards

(St. Paul, Minn.)—May 19, 2015—Minnesota Public Radio received nine first place Page One awards and received the Story of the Year award from the Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), at its annual awards ceremony hosted by MPR News host Tom Weber. For the second year in a row, “Betrayed by Silence”, the MPR News investigative series into the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis, won Story of the Year. The Current took home first place for “Best Social Media Account”.

Full list of Awards:

Special Awards
Story of the Year
First Place: MPR Newsroom, MPR News
Betrayed by Silence

Best Social Media Account – Institutional
First Place: Jay Gabler, Luke Taylor, Leah Garaas, Andrea Swensson, Minnesota Public
Radio / The Current
The Current on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram

Best Continuing Coverage
First Place: MPR Newsroom, MPR News
Betrayed by Silence
3rd place: Andrea Swensson, Jay Gabler
The 400 Bar saga

Spot/Breaking News
First Place: Newsroom staff, MPR News
Officer Patrick shot and killed

Hard News Report
First Place: Trisha Volpe, Laura McCallum, Will Lager, Manda Lillie, MPR News
Focus on concussions transforms high school football in Minnesota

Special Project/In-depth Series
First Place: Dan Gunderson, Kate Smith, MPR News
Rail Safety

First Place: Catharine Richert, Elizabeth Stawicki, Bill Catlin, MPR News
“Management, technology failures, miscommunication plagued MNsure”

Best Use of Multimedia
Third Place: Dan Gunderson, Will Lager, Jeffrey Thompson, Jackson Forderer, MPR News
Mystery trains: Crews, communities in the dark on chemical cargo

Best News Video
First Place: Molly Bloom, Curtis Gilbert, Bob Medcraft, Sam Heyn, MPR News
Choo Choo Bob explains the Southwest light rail line conundrum

Best Newsroom Blog
First Place: Bob Collins, MPR News

Best News Photography
First Place: Jennifer Simonson, Jeffrey Thompson, MPR News
Slain police officer laid to rest

Best Sports Photography
First Place: Jennifer Simonson, Jeffrey Thompson, Caroline Yang, MPR News
Photos: Kayaker braves raging Minnehaha Falls