Second Season of In the Dark Nominated for Peabody Award

ST. PAUL, Minn., April 9, 2019 –The second season of APM Reports’ In the Dark was nominated today for a Peabody Award, which honors last year’s most compelling and empowering stories presented by television, radio and digital media. The nomination was reached by unanimous vote from the Peabody Awards Board of Jurors, according to the organization.

In all, 30 Peabody Awards will be granted from the 60 nominees across categories. The winners in the Radio and Podcast Category will be announced Tuesday, April 23.

Peabody Official Nominee logo

Image Courtesy of the Peabody Awards

APM Reports’ work in Season Two of In the Dark covers the case of Curtis Flowers – a man tried six times for the same crime, a 1996 quadruple homicide in Mississippi – and has received nation-wide acclaim, particularly for its revelation of racial bias in jury selection.

The reporting done by APM Reports was used in the case presented to the U.S. Supreme Court, which heard oral arguments on Flowers v. Mississippi last month. In looking at the controversial Mississippi death penalty case, the justices will now decide if the district attorney racially discriminated in the jury selection for Flowers’ most recent trial. The court will announce its decision by the end of its term in June.

In the Dark’s first season won a Peabody Award in 2016 for APM Reports’ investigation into the kidnapping and murder of Jacob Wetterling.

Listeners can stay up-to-date on breaking news in the Flowers case and when new In the Dark episodes publish by subscribing to the In the Dark email newsletter.


About the Peabody Awards
The Peabody Awards honor the most powerful, enlightening and invigorating stories in television, radio and digital media. Each year, Peabody Awards are bestowed upon a curated collection of 30 stories that capture society’s most important issues—known as the Peabody 30. Honorees must be unanimously chosen by the Peabody Board of Jurors, a diverse assembly of industry professionals, media scholars, critics, and journalists who each bring a unique perspective of what constitutes a story that matters. From major Hollywood productions to local journalism, the network of Peabody Awards winners is a definitive collection of society’s most important stories and storytellers, including winners that have ranged from Edward R. Murrow, Carol Burnett, and David Letterman to “The Sopranos,” “Sesame Street,” “Breaking Bad,” and “Serial.” The Peabody Awards were founded in 1940 at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia and are still based in Athens today. For more information, visit or follow @PeabodyAwards on Twitter.

About APM Reports
APM Reports, formed in November 2015, is a collection of investigative journalists and documentary producers, editors, data reporters, researchers and digital producers dedicated to producing high-quality reporting on issues that are often hidden from public view. At the heart of every APM Reports investigation lies a critical question — about powerful institutions and people, injustice and accountability – that deserves an unflinching commitment to finding answers in the public’s best interest.  Visit for more.

About American Public Media
American Public Media® is the national programming division of Minnesota Public Radio® and reaches 20 million listeners via approximately 1,000 radio stations nationwide each week. APM is one of the largest producers and distributors of public radio programming in the world, with a portfolio that includes BBC World Service, Marketplace®, and the leading classical music programs in the nation. APM offers a diverse array of podcasts featuring the best in food, culture, entertainment, business and investigative journalism. For more information on APM, visit

Source: Data are copyright Nielsen Audio, Nationwide DMA data, Persons 12+, Fall ‘18. Data are estimates only.